Spread the love

Today, being May 31st, the buzz of E3 2020 would be on everyone’s mind. With E3 not going ahead in 2020, many outlets and publishers are doing their own digital event. However that’s the issue – there’s so many!

So with June 1st being but one sleep away, here’s a list of every event being held (if we’ve forgotten any, please let us know by emailing us at team@switchaboo.com):

Indie Live Expo 2020

When: June 6th

  • 4am PT
  • 7am ET
  • 12pm in the UK
  • 1pm in Europe
  • 10pm AEDT

What: Information on both published and not-yet-published indie games, as well as discussions and presentations on critically acclaimed indie titles.

Notable Contributors:

  • 11 Bit Studios
  • Brace Yourself Games
  • Flyhigh Works
  • Indienova
  • IGN Japan
  • Famitsu

Guerrilla Collective 2020

When: June 6th-8th

  • 10am PT
  • 1pm ET
  • 6pm in the UK
  • 7pm in Europe
  • 4am (June 7th-9th)

What: Announcements, trailers and reveals hosted by Greg Miller (Kinda Funny Games).

Notable Contributors:

  • 11 Bit Studios
  • Another Indie
  • Fellow Traveller
  • Funcom
  • Good Shepherd
  • Head Up
  • Humble Bundle
  • Raw Fury
  • SEGA
  • Those Awesome Guys
  • Thunderful

IGN Summer of Gaming

When: Intermittently with various events from June 8th throughout the month (originally scheduled on June 5th but was delayed)

What: Showcasing announcements, gameplay and interviews from various developers.

Notable Contributors:

  • 2K
  • Another Indie
  • Bandai Namco
  • Blizzard
  • CD Projekt Red
  • Devolver Digital
  • Merge Games
  • Microids
  • SEGA
  • Square Enix
  • Ubisoft
  • Many more…

Limited Run Games

When: June 8th

  • 12pm PT
  • 3pm ET
  • 8pm in the UK
  • 9pm in Europe
  • 6am (June 9th) AEDT

What: News on games getting physical releases and a couple new announcements.

Notable Contributors: Unsure.

EA Play

When: June 11th

  • 4pm PT
  • 7pm ET
  • 12am (June 12th) in the UK
  • 1am (June 12th) in Europe
  • 10am (June 12th) AEDT

What: Announcements and gameplay demos of games that may hopefully have a Switch announcement or two.

Notable Contributors: EA (obviously).

The Escapist Indie Showcase

When: June 11-14

  • 12pm PT
  • 3pm ET
  • 8pm in the UK
  • 9pm in Europe
  • 6am (June 12th) AEDT

What: Featuring reveals and gameplay of over 70 different indie games on day one, followed up by pre-recorded gameplay, interviews and more from June 12-14.

Notable Contributors: Unsure.

Future Games Show

When: June 13th (delayed from June 6th)

  • 2:30pm PT
  • 5:30pm ET
  • 10:30pm in the UK
  • 11:30pm in Europe
  • 8:30am (June 14th)

No update on whether times have changed due to delay.

What: Exclusive trailers, announcements, and deep dives on existing AAA and indie games, focusing on current (and next-gen) consoles, mobile and streaming platforms.

Notable Contributors: Unsure.

New Game+ Expo

When: June 23rd

  • 8am PT
  • 11am ET
  • 4pm in the UK
  • 5pm in Europe
  • 2am (June 24th) AEDT

What: Highlighting new and upcoming releases from a coalition of developers from around the world, with new announcements and gameplay demos.

Notable Contributors:

  • Arc System Works America
  • GungHo Online Entertainment America / Grasshopper Manufacture
  • Inti Creates
  • Koei Tecmo America
  • Natsume Inc.
  • NIS America, Inc.
  • SEGA of America
  • SNK Corporation
  • WayForward

Bit Summit Gaiden

When: June 27-28

  • TBA

What: Featuring more than 75 games from Japan and around the world via a newly launched permanent BitSummit Discord server, the BitSummit Twitch channel, and streamable demos hosted on Utomik.

Notable Contributors: Unsure.

Devolver Digital Press Conference

When: Assumably sometime in June.

What: Announcements of some of Devolver Digital’s upcoming titles.

Gamespot’s Play For All

When: Early June for several weeks.

What: Announcements, let’s plays, interviews, etc.

Notable Contributors:

  • 11 Bit
  • 2K Games
  • Bethesda
  • CD Projekt Red
  • Deep Silver
  • Devolver Digital
  • EA
  • Fellow Traveller
  • Good Shepard
  • Bandai Namco
  • Raw Fury
  • Sega of America
  • Sega of Europe
  • Square Enix
  • Those Awesome Guys
  • Thunderful

Ubisoft Forward

When: July 12th

  • 12pm PT
  • 3pm ET
  • 8pm in the UK
  • 9pm in Europe
  • 6am (July 13th) AEDT

What: An E3-style showcase with plenty of exclusive game news, exciting reveals, and much more.

Notable Contributors: Ubisoft (obviously).

Gamescom’s The Heart of Gaming

When: August 27-30

  • TBA

What: Opening Night Live, Awesome Indies, Daily Show, Best of Show and Devcom Digital Conference 2020, all of which will feature indie announcements and interviews.

Notable Contributors: Unsure.

So that’s all we know for now but as mentioned above, please let us know if we’ve missed any. As we are most likely all well aware of, Nintendo has stated that they will not be doing an E3 Nintendo Direct, but we’re hoping that the Big N is going to be bringing something in the next coming weeks (hopefully not months). We’ll be sure to update this article, as well as publish a second one, when news does arise.

Thank you to our $5 and up Patreon Backers for their ongoing support:

Found our content helpful? Please take a second to support Switchaboo on Patreon!
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Posted by Alex Harding

Lover of chocolate and admirer of video games, Alex is the chief writer/editor of Switchaboo.